Close this search box.

About Morrilton

Discover the Hidden Gem of the Arkansas River Valley

Morrilton's Roots

Originally settled by Major William Lewis and his son, Stephen D. Lewis, in 1820, Lewisburg would be incorporated in 1844 with approximately 1800-2000 inhabitants.  When the railroad finally reached the area in 1871, the area needed a new name. The land west of the new station belonged to Edwin James Morrill, the land east to James Miles Moose. Allegedly, the reason we’re Morrilton and not Mooseville is because of a simple flip of the coin.

The Incorporation of Morrilton

The Petition to Incorporate was filed for record November 24, 1879, with W. F. Coneer, Clerk of the Conway County Court, and approved January 16, 1880.

The petition and the signatures of the petitioners read as follows:

J.T. Hannaford, et al,
Petitioners to Incorporate

To the Conway County Court:
Your petitioners’ inhabitants of the territory described as the W1/2 of the NE1/4 and the E1/2 of the NW fractional 1/4 of Sec. 19, Township 6 North of Range 16 West, all in Conway County, Arkansas, and on which the Town of Morrilton is now situated, a plat of which is now on file in the Clerk’s office, respectfully pray that the said territory be organized and incorporated into a town corporation to be known as the Incorporated Town of Morrilton and that the same be vested with all the rights and privileges which under the law belong to incorporated towns.

And, we hereby designate William L. Moose as the person to act for us in the prosecution of this Petition.

T. Hannaford, L. Greer, R. Jones, D.N. McCoole, J.H. McClung, L. Goodman, John Rankin, S.N. Scroggins, James Nalley, L.A. Deimausch, Tom Millner, R. Wilson, John Baien, William Kearney, T.Y. Gandy, N.S. Williams, A.W. Niles, H.C. Batson, George W. Griffin, L.G. Bearden, H.T. Williams, Carl Meyer, Houston Durnal, J.P. Jones, James A. Wilson, C.J. Beck, William Flagg, Jacobson & Ehrlick, Lewis Levi, H. Lendene, J.C. Batson, Joe Alexander, Willis Lewis, James T. Griswell, J.H. Edgerly, Ben Barrett, Louis Rosenwater, A.W. Gross, N.N. Banemore, R.J. Adams, J.T. Penland, Richard G. Gordon, N.A. Nations, R.M. Rankin, William M. Clifton, A.D. Ellis, G.W. Bennett, S.F. Speer, Jho. A. Wilson, George B. Willbanks, N. Corrata, S. B. Cullen, D. D., Brewer, William Odell, William G. Beers, L. Mitchell, J.F. Brown, Nelson Ried, W.A. Batson, F.A. Digman, Edward Drew, Francis Vasha, E.H. Morrill, S.R. Waller, J. M. Moose

Frequently Asked Questions

Explore iconic sites such as the original Lewisburg settlement, the historic railroad station, Petit Jean Mountain, and the Morrilton Depot Museum.

Yes, Morrilton hosts various events and festivals celebrating its history. Keep an eye on the events calendar for historical reenactments, heritage festivals, and guided walks.

Visit the Depot Museum or contact local historical societies for access to archives. The Morrilton community values its history, and there are resources available for those eager to delve into the past.

Certainly! Morrilton welcomes self-guided tours. Pick up maps at the Depot Museum, visit key historical sites, and absorb the town’s history at your own pace.

Have Questions?

Plan your visit, connect with local guides, and uncover the stories that shaped our charming community! Morrilton welcomes you to delve into its past, celebrating the unique blend of heritage and hospitality that defines our town today.

Have questions? We can help. Contact us today!